The Smart Way to Feed Horses
A two part webinar taught by Carol Layton B.Sc M.Ed

This course will be 2 consecutive Sundays, January 21st and 28th, 2018.

Times:
San Diego, USA 12:00 noon PST
Denver, USA 1:00 pm MST
New York, USA 3:00 pm EST
Rome, Italy 9:00 pm CET
Johannesburg, SA 10:00 pm SAST

Each Part will run about 3 hours.

$150 for members.
$160 for non-members.
If you wish to just take either Part 1 or Part 2 on its own it’s $75 for members or $80 for non members.
~ Part 1 may be taken on it’s own. It will focus on nutrition of the non-metabolic horse and give you the foundation for Part 2.
~ Part 2 will focus on the needs of Insulin Resistant and Cushing horses. If you have completed Part 1 at a previous time or NRC Plus with a good understanding of the content, you may take Part 2 on it’s own.


Webinar



This webinar fulfills the Advanced Nutrition requirement for PHCP members and is open to the public.
This webinar is 6 PHCP Elective/CE credits.


Horse owners will commonly seek advice from their hoof care practitioner about the best approach to feeding their horses. It is vital that you can help with informed advice based on scientific evidence and common sense rather than fads or myths. This course is designed to complement Dr Eleanor Kellon’s NRC Plus and fulfills the Advanced Nutrition requirement for PHCP members.

Carol Layton B.Sc M.Ed (Balanced Equine) is an independent equine nutritionist with a science and technology background and an interest in the optimal feeding of horses. http://balancedequine.com.au
In 2008, Carol enrolled in equine nutrition courses provided by Dr Eleanor Kellon VMD and has never stopped studying. In 2009, Dr Eleanor Kellon asked her to tutor students in the online nutrition course, NRC Plus, and she is still tutoring students today. Carol is currently a lecturer in equine nutrition for the Certificate of Equine Hoof Care course, nationally recognized, in Tasmania, Australia. She has been invited to speak at Equitana Sydney and at a number of conferences including the Functional Hoof Conferences in 2011 and 2014, the World Hoof Care Conference in Prague 2012, and more recently at the 2016 Pacific Hoof Care Practitioners Conference in San Diego, CA.

Some topics covered:

– Equine digestion

– Why fiber matters

– Nutrients: protein, fats, carbohydrates, minerals, vitamins and electrolytes

– Feeding for hoof health

– Understanding pasture and hay and the nutrition they provide – it’s not just roughage

– Who are the NRC

– Limitations of soil, blood and hair testing

– Pasture and hay testing

– How to feed horses prone to laminitis; insulin resistance and hindgut carbohydrate overload and PPID/Cushings

– Common feeding fads and myths

 * VERY IMPORTANT * – Please be sure to include your regular email address and your full name in the “special instruction box”on PayPal. Without the correct email we will not be able to send you instructions and an invite to the webinar.

Note – Plan to sign on to the webinar 15 minutes before it starts, to make sure everything is working for you. The webinar host will be on and available 30 minutes before the start time. Webinars will start promptly at the scheduled time so technical issues must be resolved before that. Money will not be refunded if you are not able to make the webinar due to scheduling conflicts. If you have an unresolvable technical issue credit for a future webinar may be considered.  Webinars are not recorded and shared. The information contained in them is owned by the clinician presenting.

Webinar hosts: Jeannean Mercuri  & Christina Krueger
For payment issues, Marie Daniels